#T5W Episode 2: What a Drag

Hello, reader. Welcome to Episode 2 of Top 5 Wednesday! It’s been a looooooooooong while since the pilot episode of this series on my blog so I’m glad I finally got the chance to do another one! If you don’t know what this series is, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to participate in #T5W, you can head on over to their Goodreads group.

Today’s theme is……..

Or books that took me forever to read. Either because they’re awfully boring or I was caught in reading slump mania.

#5

This is my first Maggie Stiefvater read so I guess it’s no surprise it took me a reasonable amount of time to read her novels, particularly the Shiver series. Don’t get me wrong – I love Stiefvater’s stories and words and themes. And I liked this series too! But…there was too much happening here (drama, sappy stuff euch) that I had to put down this book multiple times.

#4

Define painful and you might see this series with a picture of my frustrated face. Honestly, I badly wanted to like the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick. And at some point whilst reading these books, I was entertained. But most of the time I was thinking to myself, where is the end to this madness The series spans a too-long 4 book piece, and the last book, Finaleis the worst. It took me more than a month I think to finish this just because it’s the last book and I just want to get it over with.

#3

Onto a more positive pick, I have here The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan – the last book in the epic Heroes of Olympus saga. If there are any PJO fans out there, I think you know the reason why this took me a long time to read (nearly a year after it’s release!): I DIDN’T WANT IT TO END. Sadly, it did end when I read this book earlier this year. WHY.

#2

It’s not you, it’s me. I started Suffer Love in the midst of our midterms, I think, that’s why I had to put this book in the back burner. I actually had to reread this book from the start because I forgot most of what was happening aha. Anyway! It was a great read after all.

#1

Ah. Now this I didn’t read immediately because I wasn’t feeling the book. I remember there was so much hype going on with An Ember in the Ashes, and frankly, I’m not one for hyped-up books. So I let the hype die down a little. AND ZOMG THIS BOOK IS THE BEST THING EVER?!?

what books were a drag to read for ya?

Leave a Reply

