2016 in Review

2016-in-reviewWhoa there. Did 2016 just happen? I honestly can’t believe the year is finally drawing to a close once again. Even more when I realise that I didn’t blog for quite a long time. It saddens the heart, but that’s for another day’s post!

Today I’m recapping my year in blogging – whether I was active or inactive aha – and reading – whether I was or wasn’t aha. This is going to be interesting.

(Go on and like this post if you thought this gif was pretty nifty! It took me a grand total of 4 hours to make this *_*)

Here are some of my favourite posts I wrote this year:

That’s all for all things blog related – now for the books! Since I read a whopping 36 books this year, it’ll be fairly easy for me to narrow down my best reads. (Or not because of the shortage of my reads lol.)

2016-books

BEST OF YOUNG ADULT CONTEMPORARY FICTION

There were so many great contemporary releases in YA this year, which is a bit sad for me because I didn’t get the chance to read the great lot. But that doesn’t mean the ones I read weren’t any good!

THE GREAT AMERICAN WHATEVER by Tim Federle – I read this around the beginning of the year and seriously – it sort of ruined every other book for me. Well, up until The Raven King but anyway. I have a review right here if you’re interested in checking out this amazing novel.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

2016-books-dos

BEST OF YOUNG ADULT SPECULATIVE FICTION

It was also a good year for fantasy and science-fiction novels in YA! Man, I just want to slap myself for missing out on a good year to read. I badly wanted to hop on to the Six of Crows duology train (I will tho next year!) and continue the Throne of Glass series. But my favourite read in this genre greatly makes up for those misses.

THE RAVEN CYCLE/THE RAVEN KING by Maggie Stiefvater – I’m quite proud of myself for patiently anticipating each book in this wonderful, wonderful series. I remember back in April I kept bugging our local bookstore with texts about The Raven King and I was so happy when I got the first copy aha. It was a glorious time of the year.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

2016-books-tres

BEST OF NEW ADULT FICTION

I became picky with my NA reads this year – from the amount I read last year and how so few of those were actually good. I discovered some pretty smart NAs and some are in my all-time favs list. I also discovered the genius that is Santino Hassell. I can’t wait to read more of his work!

STRONG SIGNAL by Megan Erickson & Santino Hassell – I am legitimately blown away, even up to now, with how so freaking good this book is. From the characters to the dialogue to the interactions (*wink*) – it was like eating a delicious chocolate cake.

HONORABLE MENTIONS

And that’s it for the first part of my 2016 in Review recap! There will be more…I think haha! And I’ll be making some pretty monumental and life-changing (rlly tho, Miguel) announcements here on the blog as well. For the meantime, have a nice New Year’s Eve!

8 thoughts on “2016 in Review

  1. Having read 36 books is still an achievement, Miguel. Don’t belittle yourself! Also, we don’t have that much in common in terms of the books we read, but I was able to check out Sabaa Tahir’s books both EMBER and TORCH, and found them to be intense, and action-packed, and so worth mentioning. Anyway, here’s to a great 2017! 🙂 Also, I’m madly in love with your gifs!!!

  2. Wow, look at all those great books you read this year. Nice one 🙂 I’m very proud of you. I only managed to read around 30 books haha. School this year is torturous, but I love what I learn nonetheless. I love how you worked with the moving Gif thing – it looks beautiful! And the books that you read are amazing. I’ve always wanted to read An Ember in the Ashes, but I never have the time (or the money) to. I hope this year will serve as a better reading month for me and you.

    Happy New Year, Miguel. Wishing you a great 2017.

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

Leave a Reply

