Not A Big Deal

not-a-big-deal

I’m not quite done lamenting about 2016.

In my 2016 year-end recap, I mentioned that I read a whopping 36 books in total. Wrong. I actually read 37 books last year. But jokes aside, that’s not what I want to talk about today.

Do you have a Goodreads account? Is that question even relevant for the readers of this day and age? Well, if you do have one then I’m sure you’re all too well-acquainted with its annual Goodreads Reading Challenge. Now back in the day, like 2013-2014, I used to set really, really ambitious reading goals. My goals were around the 75-100 tier (sorry to all those 500 book readers, but that’s already big for me aha), and those were the glory days of reading for me. When I was making such a big deal of finishing this reading goal.

The last two years has given me perspective as a reader especially since I got busier with real life that I literally have little to none time to read. I realised that I don’t have to feel obligated to read a lot of books just to say I had a great reading year or fill my end-of-the-year lists. I realised that it’s not a big deal to me anymore.

screen-shot-2017-01-07-at-3-05-02-pm

For 2017, I only pledged one book to read. Besides the fact that it’s a piece of sweet, dark chocolate cake, it takes off the pressure for me. I don’t know if it’s only me, but every time I log on to Goodreads and see my progress, I either get motivated/un-motivated to read. And I want none of that for 2017 because,

I pledge to read only one book, and read a million after.

One thought on “Not A Big Deal

Leave a Reply

