Blog Tour – History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

historyblogtourbanner

You’re still alive in alternate universes, Theo, but I live in the real world, where this morning you’re having an open-casket funeral. I know you’re out there, listening. And you should know I’m really pissed because you swore you would never die and yet here we are. It hurts even more because this isn’t the first promise you’ve broken.

Going into this book, I was expecting a lot of familiarity since reading Silvera’s extraordinary debut, More Happy Than Not (which I also did a review on right here). I knew I was in for another one of his whip-smart dialogues, well-rounded and complicated characters, and poignant storytelling. But History Is All You Left Me is all that and more – it bridged the gap between old and new by offering something magical, heartbreaking, and true.

Right off the bat, I am devastatingly in love with the characters Silvera has penned this time. Griffin, Theo, Jackson, and Wade – you boys stole my heart the moment you came alive in those chapters. I love their individual quirkiness, their flaws, their interests (esp Theo’s love for trivia!). They all felt like real people that I want to be friends with and hang out for the rest of my life. (end of gushing)

I don’t want to go in-depth with each character because it’d take me forever and a minute to accomplish that. Just know that you are going to get attached with these boys one way or another.

Now for the million dollar question: did I cry while reading? Unfortunately, no tears were shed in the reading of this book though I did get misty-eyed quite a few times. I also wailed around like a mad man. But yeah, this book can get really sad depending on how you let it affect you. Though I think it’s more of Silvera’s talent at work here; I just love his storytelling so much that I’m willing to suffer the pain of these characters.

Moreover, I thought the storyline of History flowed really nicely. The chapters alternate between the present Griffin time and the past Griffin time, or history, wherein he recounts his relationship with Theo – from innocent beginnings to his final moments. I must say that it all wrapped up nicely at the end – like the alternating chapters really worked when the story was setting up for the climax. That’s when I started losing all sense of control because the feels. 

To conclude, I can’t stop thinking about this book. It’s the kind that remains in the recesses of your brain and in your heart because it was that good. I’m already naming it my favourite read for the year, but hey, maybe Silvera will top his own when he releases his other book this year. Other than that, I highly recommend you check this one out.

Puzzles are sort of like life because you can mess up and rebuild later and you’re likely smarter the next time around.

You can also check out the rest of the tour right here:

March 7 – Miguel @ The Quirky Reader

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

Much thanks to Nicka for organizing this tour! Until the next read quirks!

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour – History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

  1. I haven’t gotten to HiAYLM yet but I remember it took months for me to nurse the pain Adam left me after reading MHTN. I’ve heard a lot of readers cried while reading this one, too, so I feel a little relieved that you didn’t. Anyway, this sounds just as hard-hitting as Silvera’s debut. And I absolutely cannot wait for his second 2017 release; that one looks like it’s going to pack a punch of feels as well. :’)

    Summer

Leave a Reply

