Mini Movie Reviews! The First of Twenty-Seventeen.

twenty seventeen

It’s been a long time coming, but thank God I am back with another episode of Mini Movie Reviews! If you’re new to my blog and don’t have any inkling about what this series is about, basically, in this feature I give short reviews of movies I’ve collectively watched. And since this is the first for 2017, I watched all of these over the period of three months (beginning in January).

Also, I am deeply sorry for not being active lately haha. I just finished all my papers for school (and my technical report ūüė≠), and I’m getting ready for summer break, which means more time for reading and blogging. But anyway! On with the reviews…

la-la-land
When I first heard about¬†La La Land¬†early last year, I was immediately drawn to the premise of this movie. I’m a huge fan of movie musicals especially when they’re loud and bright and over-the-top. And my goodness, I was blown away by the sheer greatness of this musical masterpiece by Damien Chazelle. If we could suspend all the criticism and controversy for a minute, this is a pretty darn good movie. I¬†loved¬†Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling together. And overall, I left the theatre with a huge smile plastered on my face.

before-the-flood
Before the Flood¬†came as a surprise to me. Though I don’t watch, and certainly finish, much documentaries, this one really caught my attention. As someone who’s environmentally aware of what’s happening with our Earth¬†right now, I was deeply moved by the content of this documentary. It made me angry, that people are still dismissing global warming or climate change as “fictional”. It made me sad, that people all over the world are suffering because of man’s carelessness. And it left me empowered – that I can do something significant to raise awareness. Overall, it was a pretty eye-opening film for me.

kimi-no-nawa
Make way for 2017’s biggest¬†WTF???¬†moment film.¬†Kimi no¬†nawa,¬†or¬†Your name,¬†was highly recommended to me by my friends. As in, they were constantly pushing me to go and watch this during the time of its worldwide release. They said they cried (one friend of mine who¬†never¬†cries, cried on this one) and the story was mind-blowing. So I decided to check it out and¬†goodness gracious. WHAT THE HECK JUST HAPPENED. THERE WERE SO MANY PLOT TWISTS I DID NOT SEE COMING AND YEAH, I¬†ALMOST¬†CRIED.

tl;dr – It’s a pretty solid anime film. Go check it out for yourself.

beauty-and-the-beast
Tale as old as time…wow.¬†Though I haven’t (*gasp*) watched the original animated version, I did read the fairytale when I was little kid, and just watching all of those elements come to life in the big screen was truly magical. The entire time I was watching¬†Beauty and the Beast¬†I was grinning like a happy fool. It sounds cheesy, but it made me believe in fairytales dammit. Truly, you must see this wonderful and magical tale. Preferably, on the big screen.

And those are the movies I’ve watched¬†so far¬†this year. I actually reviewed an Filipino coming-of-age indie on my other blog, and if you’re interested in checking that one out click here. That’s all I have for today, until next time!

have you watched any of these films? what was your favourite? let me know down below!

One thought on “Mini Movie Reviews! The First of Twenty-Seventeen.

Leave a Reply

