Re: March/April ’17

march-and-april
Re: is a new feature here in The Quirky Reader wherein every month (or every other month) I make a neat summary of what went down in terms of blogging and living IRL. 

Guess who’s read more than one book this month? That’s right – this nerd right over here did that.

Hey guys! So amidst the intense summer heat here in the tropical island, I’m still pretty much alive. I actually got a bad sunburn from swimming a few weeks ago, so kids, if you know what’s good for you, lay on thick with that sunblock. Anyway! It’s been a month since I last did one of these recaps, so without further ado here’s what went down last March up to April.

HOW’S MY READING MONTH?

So for the month of March, I only read 1 book, and this was during the hectic final weeks of my last semester in school. But in April, I read a total of 6 books. Not too bad, eh?

marchapril-readsBOOK/S READ:

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME by Adam Silvera | GOODREADS | MY REVIEW

DESCENDANTS by Rae Else | GOODREADS | MY REVIEW

SWEET LITTLE LIES by Jill Shalvis| GOODREADS

Surprise! I read Chick-Lit from time to time ’cause hey, sometimes I need the mushy-gushy love. This is the second book I’ve read from Shalvis and dang, she’s good.

ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE by Benjamin Alire Saenz | GOODREADS

I don’t think I need a review to express my love for this story and its characters. If you have not read this gem, GO, I MEAN GO.

THESE VICIOUS MASKS by Tarun Shanker, Kelly Zekas | GOODREADS | MY REVIEW

SEEKING MANSFIELD by Kate Watson | GOODREADS

I picked this book up on a whim, and wow – I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed the read. It’s definitely more mature than most contemporary YA I’ve read and it also has excellent commentary on ambitions and the reality of making it big with your dreams.

FLAME IN THE MIST by Renee Ahdieh | GOODREADS

I’m sorry, but this is my favourite book of 2017 by a long margin. This is what YA fantasy is all about.

HOW’S MY BLOGGING MONTH?

Try as I might, I can’t seem to get back into the routine of updating my blog at least twice a week. I’m a mood-binge writer, to be honest. I simply can’t help it if my creative juices don’t want to flow (more about this on a future post!). Besides the reviews I’ve written, here are some noteworthy posts:

POST/S PUBLISHED:

WHAT HAVE I BEEN WATCHING?

So here’s the real reason why I haven’t been reading and blogging that much lately. Friends, I’m slowly reverting back to my anime phase. And it all started when bloody Shingeki no Kyojin S2 started a few weeks ago.

This season has been 5 years in the making and I’ve also been waiting for 5 terribly, long years. But it’s here and it’s soooooooo good. (Also, please keep the spoilers to yourself hihi)

And then there’s this piece of trash for a show And then there’s this super good, super feel good, SUPER AWESOME ice skating anime called Yuri!! on Ice that I’ve been seeing floating around the web for a while now. My friend recommended it to me, so I watched and I….did not come out unscathed. I love my figure skater boys (◡‿◡✿)

HOW’S MY LIFE?

I’m currently on my summer break, and I’ve been spending the last week studying for college entrance exams this year (*fingers crossed*). I honestly can’t believe I’m going to be a college student in a year. This is life omg. 

ANYTHING ELSE?

Be on the lookout for my review of Seeking Mansfield and Flame in the Mist later in the week! That is if studying doesn’t consume my time. Woo-hoo. Until next time, quirks!

4 thoughts on “Re: March/April ’17

  1. Who watches Yuri on Ice and does not leave damaged??? 😂 Hi. Welcome to the club.

    Oooh now I’m excited to read Flame In The Mist. I might just give it a go (but I have to hahaha) but your hype makes me giddy. I have been wanting to get my hands on some good fantasy lately.

  2. I can’t believe you’re just entering college, Miggy! #iamsooldiamwithering But best of luck, dude! You’ll ace those exams! Also? ARI AND DANTE IS ONE OF THE ABSOLUTE BEST!! ❤

Leave a Reply

