#T5W Episode 3: Summer Reads

Hello, reader. Welcome to Episode 3 of Top 5 Wednesday! Man, I miss doing these weekly memes on the blog. Anyway! If you don’t know what this series is, Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam of ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to participate in #T5W, you can head on over to their Goodreads group.

Today’s theme is…

AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR BY MORGAN MATSON

Whenever I think about summer, two things come to mind: music and road trips. It’s the perfect season to go to the beach with your fam or on a spontaneous getaway with your friends, windows rolled down and indie pop music blaring and all that. Four years ago I read this marvellous book that, for me, is the epitome of summer reading. So if you love music and road trips – this one’s for you.

THINGS WE KNOW BY HEART BY JESSI KIRBY

A summer read should leave long-lasting effect on you even when the season is over. Like photographs in pockets, once you bring out the book, all these bright feelings come and rush over you. And this book was that for me. Every time I remember this book, I instantly feel all the feels. Cheesy yes, but this was a memorable summer of 2015 read for me.

FIVE FLAVOURS OF DUMB BY ANTONY JOHN

Summer, for me, is the most memorable time of the year. Other than you have two months of school break, there’s just a lot to do when you have all the time in the world. One summer I went to an amusement park with friends, and one summer I went to a concert, and another went swimming with my fam. Those summers are worth revisiting every once in a while. Just like how much I love revisiting this book. It’s a unique story – a deaf girl who becomes one band’s manager – and one I won’t forget.

MADE YOU UP BY FRANCESCA ZAPPIA

Sometimes summer brings in rain showers – or at least here in the Philippines. It’s a day ruiner – once you see the dark clouds in the sky covering the sun. This book deals with mental illness and it’s just like a rainy summer. It’s gloomy, yes, but it’s all in how you look at it. I didn’t expect this book to be as witty and charming despite its serious themes. I enjoyed every page of it. So, don’t let a rainy day ruin your summer!

THE COLOR PROJECT BY SIERRA ABRAMS

Summer of 2017 has been amazing so far. I just finished studying for college entrance exams later this year, I’m finally engaging in a healthy lifestyle (aka exercising lol), and I’m reading more again lately. Though this book isn’t out until July, I dare say this one is the most summer I could possibly obtain from a book. It’s cute and colourful, and I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much after a rocky start.

what are your summer reads? have you read any of these books? tell me!

17 thoughts on “#T5W Episode 3: Summer Reads

  1. This is such a lovely post, I’m getting summer vibes here 🙂 I read and LOVED Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, I agree that it’s definitely the epitome of summer reading. Did you read any other books by this author? They’re all very, well, they’re all made for summer I think 😀
    I also got lucky enough to read The Color Project already and I LOVED THIS too! 🙂

    1. AMY & ROGER’S is the only Morgan Matson book I’ve read, which is sad because I agree with you there – a lot of her books seem to be marketed for summer reading. So it means I’m missing out on a lot lol. And yassss – The Color Project is everything ❤

  2. Another book to my TBR list (: I love your blog!

    Hi!! My name is Milli and I just started my new blog and wanted to make a few friends! I also have a booktube channel that you might find interesting. There is a giveaway on my blog!

  3. I’ve been meaning to read Amy & Roger’s in forever! I’m glad it had a lasting impression on you ’cause I just borrowed it from my best friend. It sounds fun and charming! Oddly, I don’t really subscribe to summer reading? Or at least I haven’t really questioned myself what titles I associate with summer. But if I had to pick one right now, it would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird. Maybe because it’s mostly set during the summer breaks or maybe because I first read it in the summer of 2011. But I’ve read this five times now and it ALWAYS gives me warmth. Also? These photos, Miggy!

      1. It was a long time ago 😅 I was in my freshman year of high school sooo like four years ago. Anyway I remember getting bored with the book because we were required to read it or else…but I started to enjoy it around the middle mark and finished the book in a day. AND WOW SO MANY FEELINGS I HAD TO DISCUSS WITH MY CLASSMATES AFTER.

  4. I keep seeing Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour on everyone’s summer reads recommendations or favorites lists. I’m thinking that means I need to give in and read it already or just read a book by the author because I’ve heard such great things about her books. Hopefully sometime soon. Great list!! 😊

  5. Happy sigh. Your graphics are always the best, Miguel!

    I haven’t heard of most of these books so thank you for sharing them. As for summery books I’d recommend to you… anything by Sarah Dessen is a safe bet. The Truth About Forever and Just Listen are my favorite but nearly all of her books are perfect for the summer. I also really like anything contemporary, so I would also encourage you to add The Sun is Also a Star onto your TBR list if isn’t already on there. ^.^

    Summer

Leave a Reply

