Re: May ’17

Re: is a new feature here in The Quirky Reader wherein every month (or every other month) I make a neat summary of what went down in terms of blogging and living IRL. 

Hello reader. I’m starting to see a trend in my reading with each passing month. Like I’d have a good reading month and actually read a ton of books. And then I get these dry reading months where I expect to read X amount of books, but…fall short.

So, how did I fare for the month of May?

HOW’S MY READING MONTH?

First of all, I can’t believe May flew by that quick. I thought I had another two weeks of reading before school starts lol. Anyway, I didn’t get to read much as I would like to. I initially planned on marathoning a few series – particularly the Six of Crows duology. Oh, well. I still read four incredibly amazing books last month, so it’s a win-win.

BOOK/S READ:

THE COLOR PROJECT by Sierra Abrams | GOODREADS 

IT HAPPENED ON LOVE STREET by Lia Riley | GOODREADS 

LEO LOVES ARIES by Anyta Sunday | GOODREADS

ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS by Francesca Zappia | GOODREADS | MY REVIEW

After reading her debut novel, Made You Up, I quickly fell in love with Zappia’s witty and smart writing style as well as her authentic characters. It’s no surprise that I immensely loved her sophomore novel as well. It hit really close to home for me because the MC here suffers from anxiety and how it affects her both her real life and Internet life. But this book was enjoyable nonetheless!

HOW’S MY BLOGGING MONTH?

Try as I might, I can’t seem to churn up any creative posts or discussions for this month. On the other hand, I’ve been updating my other blog so if you want to read more personal stuff I think about (the deep kind lol), you can go check it here.

But I did do another episode of Top 5 Wednesday, wherein I feature some of my favourite summer reads, and I published a long-forgotten tag post.

POST/S PUBLISHED:

WHAT HAVE I BEEN WATCHING?

I blame anime, you guys. It’s the reason why I haven’t been reading at all #stuckinaphaseagain 😢 Starting off with marathoning the entire season one of Bakugan: Battle Brawlers aka my CHILDHOOD.

I initially intended to marathon this series, so I could get closure (I didn’t get around to finishing it in my kiddo years) and start the next season. BUT. I was disappointed with the progression of this series in the succeeding seasons, so I just went with Battle Brawlers. talk about wasting my days on 52 episodes *_*

I also started watching Arakawa Under the Bridge per my friend’s suggestion. Actually, I had no choice. He forced me to watch it in their house post morning jog. And you guys. This is the weirdest thing I have ever watched. and the absolute cutest!!!! No spoilers please, I’m on EP 4!

HOW’S MY LIFE?

I start school next week!

Cue endless sea of regrets because I didn’t *force* to read as much and now I’m going to drown in my ocean of textbooks and readings once again. SIGH.

And I think that’s about all that happened last month. To all you who are starting their summers, wow. I’m again amazed with the movement of the sun and the earth’s many seasons. I just wish summer were longer here. Well, until next time, quirks!

One thought on “Re: May ’17

Leave a Reply

