A Game of Unpopular Opinions

Hello! It has been a while since I’ve graced the book blogging community with a new post, but classes are suspended here in my place and I actually have free time to write.

So, to mark my short appearance here, I decided to do a tag — a fun and rousing game of Unpopular Opinions. Nobody tagged me for this one but after seeing Solomon over at The Bookish King do this tag, I thought why not? Click here to see his answers!

In the game of Unpopular Opinions, no character, no author is spared from the judgment of Miguel…

(I should also warn you that there are some spoilers in these answers. Thread carefully, my friend.)
I’ll admit I enjoy quite a few of the popular YA novels and series, but if there’s one that didn’t click with me it’s got to be Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I remember reading it and not connecting with the characters or being driven by the story even until the cliffhanger end. The first book bored me so much I didn’t bother reading the rest. No h8 tho.
I know a many readers that cannot tolerate The Selection series by Kiera Cass, and I’m here like but this is a really entertaining series. For all its flaws and fails, this series reminded me why I fell in love with YA in the first place, and harkens so much to those good ‘ole days wherein I’d read a book all day long.

There’s only ever been one answer for me here. I know these characters are already living in quiet peace away from the antagonists of their world. But damn if I didn’t like the Alina and Malyen (Malina in Tumblrspeak) ship or Titanic or whatever. I don’t necessarily hate this pairing??? But it’s not my fave either. I mean, come on. If you’ve read the Grisha, you know what I’m talking about. *silently fumes in corner*

I think every genre is a popular genre though? But anyway, I rarely every reach for/search for a High Fantasy adult novel. I have A Game of Thrones in my shelf though, but after reading a few chapters, I prefer my YA Fantasy a lot more. There’s just something about the George R.R. Martins and the Brandon Sandersons that intimidate the heck out of me. That’s why I stay away from their lane. No h8 once again.
I might get shot in the foot for this one but I have to say Dorian from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Before ya’ll go and throw your rotten tomatoes at me, my dislike for his character doesn’t run that deep. I mean, I’m still in the third book of the series (also, don’t judge me for my slow pacing lolz). But…yeah not the biggest fan of His Highness.
The list goes on and on but I’d go with Jennifer Niven. Never read any of her books, and not planning anytime soon. It’s nothing personal — I just think her stories are not for this reader.
After reading the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, I think I’ve had enough of the Heroine Falls in Love with Mysterious Villain but is Actually an Anti-Hero trope in YA. It’s entertaining as heck, yes, but a few books and series have gone by and…man I keep seeing this everywhere. Surprise me please.
I’ll never forget the day I watched The Fault in Our Stars in its premiere week, and I remember falling in love with the film — its actors, cinematography, music. And I think it’s even more sincere and heartfelt than the original source material.

And that concludes this rousing round of A Game of Unpopular Opinions. Let me know down below if you agree with my picks, and share some of your unpopular opinions. Until next time, quirks!

2 thoughts on “A Game of Unpopular Opinions

Leave a Reply

