call me by your name – a book and trailer review.

 Well, peaches.

A few weeks ago I stumbled upon this article in Indiewire about another critically-acclaimed indie darling from Sundance that’s making the rounds in the hype department. I actually didn’t bother reading what the film was all about – other than it’s a coming-of-age LGBT flick (a fave of mine) – because I was so entranced by its poster (see above).

Yesterday the trailer for Call Me By Your Name was released. The hype didn’t escape me, so naturally, I watched it and again, I was so entranced and I realised, oh it’s that kind of film. Me internally smirking. But hold up – it’s based on a novel of the same name??? I got to read this thing.

a book review.

Call Me By Your Name follows Elio as he reminisces the time when he was 17-years-old and living in Italy with his parents. Every summer, Elio’s parents would take in an academic guest who would live in their villa for six weeks and help with his father’s academic paperwork. They also get to take Elio’s bedroom, much to his annoyance. The guest, 24-year-old academic Oliver, immediately intrigues Elio with his carefree disposition. Sparks fly and unsure feelings rise up in this sweeping and fleeting summer love affair…

For the most part, I had trouble connecting with Elio’s style of narration. It’s written in a way that feels memoir-like, as if I’m having an late afternoon conversation over tea with Elio himself. But Aciman ultimately won me over with his simple yet evocative writing style.

We had the stars, you and I. And this is given once only.

Now let’s talk about the characters.

Since this was a fairly short book, clocking in at around 250 pages, there was hardly any huge character developments at play. We see Elio sort out his complicated, teenage feelings and I thought it was beautiful and real. Kudos to Aciman for capturing what us teenagers are really feeling deep inside our angsty hearts. I can even liken Elio to Charlie from The Perks of Being a Wallflower. But I like Elio more – less obnoxious and all.

Oliver, on the other had, was a very interesting figure. He’s like the human representation of all the bad things teenagers are warned about, but with a heart. He’s the epitome of Complicated, in general. For the first half of the book, I wasn’t a big fan of his detached personality, mostly because he was so indifferent to Elio. It’s only in the latter half do we see real emotions surface beneath.

As for the other characters, I didn’t really care for them lol. I mean, it was a pretty quick read – I came here for the forbidden romance ok!!

If I could have him like this in my dreams every night of my life, I’d stake my entire life on dreams and be done with the rest.

The last chapter is definitely my favourite and a highlight for the book. We go back to present time Elio, now 32-years-old, as he navigates through his life years after that summer in Italy. I don’t want to divulge anything further other than that last sentence killed me.

a trailer review.

So obviously, I got to watch the trailer first before reading/knowing the book. And here’s what I thoughts and comparisons.

  • The trailer was beautiful – no doubt about it. I love the cinematography, the music they used (it’s ya boy Sufjan Stevens singing!), and it’s your typical indie darling trailer with practically no dialogue and a lot of quotes from reviews.
  • The cast is beautiful. Since there’s already a face to these book characters, I had no trouble picturing them in my head as I read. If you’re like me who practically needs a face to every character I read, then high five. Timothee Chalamet and Armie Hammer as Elio and Oliver are perfect. They are literal angels from heaven.
  • I think I’m going to enjoy the movie adaptation more. Based on what I’ve see in this trailer thus far and what director Luca Guadagnino has commented on his work, I’m pretty excited for the film. I’m ready for the feels yo.

And that’s about it! Let me know down below if you’ve watched the trailer or you’ve read the book or it’s the first time you’re hearing about Call Me By Your Name. Until the next time, quirks!

2 thoughts on “call me by your name – a book and trailer review.

  1. I don’t read much books about LGBT but I heard about this movie. And I have to say, I do love to watch it. I didn’t know it was base from a book though, so I guess I’ll read the book first before watching the movie then 😉

Leave a Reply

